secretsofthedark

i2pbrowser

Is I2P Browser Safe and Functional? #i2pbrowser

Those of you who read my other blog at https://secretsofthedark.com may have heard me mention I2P a few times. If you have no idea what I'm talking about, then allow me to explain.

I2P, like Tor, is an anonymity network, and I'd also consider it to be part of the “dark web.” While people generally think of Tor, exclusively, as the dark web, I like to put all of the different anonymity networks under one umbrella.

You can download the software for I2P at I2P Anonymous Network. Alternately, it's also available on F-Droid at

The I2P Browser, on the other hand, is (from what I can tell) a fork of the Tor Browser – it looks very similar, in fact. The main difference, on the surface, is that the I2P Browser's color scheme is purple, whereas the Tor Browser is grayish.

As for being functional, the browser seems to work just fine. I admit that I haven't figured out all the details yet, but as opposed to the Tor Browser, the I2P Browser uses port 4444 by default (Tor uses 9150).You can see the default proxy settings here: I2P Browser Proxy Settings.

Right out of the box, the browser doesn't have an outproxy to the clearnet, either (which the Tor Browser Bundle does). I found a good guide to this on Reddit, as a matter of fact: Newbie guide to setting up I2P outproxy to clearnet?

If you, personally, want to mess around with it, then go to the about:config settings page and tinker with that. Otherwise, don't touch it!

To check if the browser is working (and therefore connected to I2P), try this link: i2pwiki.i2p.

This is a subject I'd like to explore further, so if you have more questions, feel free to leave a comment!